Grilled Romaine

I’ve been wanting to post about grilling romaine for a year or two, but my pictures never seemed appetizing enough to get the message across that it’s REALLY good. I finally decided “screw it, I’m posting it anyway”. This change in attitude was brought on by a glimpse through a recent Food Network magazine in which Guy Fieri presents a bastardized version of this healthy summer side that my dad has been making for years.

For me, the whole point of grilled romaine is that it’s good for you. Topping it with blue cheese and bacon and who knows what else Guy threw on there kind of defeats the purpose. Sure, it’s yummy, but eating lettuce isn’t healthy when you smother it in fat. It’s all well and good for Guy, but some of us have to wear a bikini this summer without scaring away small children.

So here is my super easy, super healthy version. If you want the blue cheese-bacon monstrosity (and I can’t say I really blame you, I’m sure it’s very delicious), google it from the Stairmaster.

Grilled Romaine
serves 4

2 hearts of romaine lettuce
6 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp. olive oil
salt
pepper

plastic wrap
rubber bands
Remove any soft or floppy outer leaves from the lettuce. Slice the romaine in half lengthwise, leaving the core attached.

In a small bowl, mix the oil, garlic, salt, and pepper into a paste. Drizzle over the cut side of the lettuce, pushing the mixture in between the leaves.

Put the lettuce back together (cut sides facing in) and wrap in plastic. Use a rubber band to secure. I throw these in the fridge and let them “marinate” while I’m getting the rest of dinner ready. This is an easy dish to take to a cookout – you can just bring the prepped lettuce along and have the host slap it on the grill.

Grill over medium-high heat, until outer edges are charred and lettuce has softened. You can slice it before serving if you like, but I think the half is nice looking on a plate.

This entry was posted in greens, salad. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grilled Romaine

  1. kristi says:

    I’m totally drooling!!! This sounds so yummy! Now if only I had a grill….

  2. Polyvorina says:

    I have never heard of grilling salad, but awesome. I’ve been looking for new ways to do romaine salads since it’s just about the only lettuce I like. 🙂

  3. Auntie Jude says:

    I tried this….Uncle David didn’t grill it long enough…but I will try again, next time I’ll watch it on the grill. It was good, but I think could of been a bit crispier.

Leave a Reply

