Wednesday Yums

Just a little post to share some stuff I’ve been finding awesome lately!

Nasturtiums

These edible flowers are adorable – bright, springy, and yes, tasty too! Andrew’s cousin Elise gave me nasturtium plants when we went to visit over the weekend and I am so excited to see them flower and to come up with fun ways to eat them!

Super Easy Dinners

That’s right, here’s a recipe in the middle of a random post. Spray a baking sheet with olive oil and throw a pound of boneless skinless chicken tenders onto it. Spray chicken with olive oil and sprinkle on your favorite seasoning (I used Old Bay). Bake at 375 degrees for 7-10 minutes (until chicken is cooked). In the meantime, boil a pound of pasta. Remove chicken from oven and shred with two forks. Toss pesto (store-bought is just fine, but if you have homemade, go for it) with the chicken and pasta and top with freshly grated parmesan cheese for the easiest dinner ever.

Gaucho’s Churrascaria

Gaucho’s rocks! A Brazilian steakhouse on Commercial Street in Portland, the food is non-stop and it’s all delicious. Definitely a nice option for those who visit Maine but aren’t big seafood eaters. Twelve kinds of meat is only part of the story – there’s also a huge salad bar, tons of side options, and a nice wine and cocktail menu.

The String of Hope

I mentioned our cousin Elise earlier. I have been wanting to share with you that her daughter was recently diagnosed with lymphoma and is undergoing treatments in Boston. Mia is an awesome girl and it was her desire that we support something that isn’t all about her, or even all about cancer. She chose The String of Hope – a really great cause that focuses on bringing hope and compassion to those who have none. I’m loving the little reminder on my wrist that I am so blessed and so lucky to have love and hope in my life. Anything I can do to pass that on to other people, I’m willing to take part in. Check out The String of Hope when you have some time.

Have a great week! If you haven’t already, use the button on the right to friend TPF on Facebook – I’m hoping to showcase some more Portland restaurants and share more pictures with you there this summer.

This entry was posted in chicken, it's not all about food, pasta. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday Yums

  1. Diana says:

    I really like those Nasturtiums. I’ve never seen them before. Where can you buy those?

    • Diana, I got mine as a gift, but I believe you can buy them at any garden center that has a decent selection of flower and vegetable seedlings. You can probably also get the seeds just about anywhere!

Leave a Reply

