Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

This will be a short post, but I couldn’t let today go by without sharing these amazing cupcakes with you! Irish Car Bombs are a favorite of mine and you all know how I feel about dessert, so these deep dark chocolate stout cupcakes filled with a velvety whiskey ganache and topped with a sweet Bailey’s buttercream are right up my alley. SmittenKitchen has the recipe posted – my changes are as follows:

  • dark cocoa powder instead of regular for the cupcakes
  • Ghiardelli bittersweet chips instead of chopped chocolate for the ganache
  • used the full amount of whiskey and Irish cream

I opted to use the base of an icing tip to cut the holes in the cupcakes since I don’t have an apple corer or 1″ circle cookie cutter.

Look how dark these cupcakes are – the combination of the dark chocolate and the stout lend themselves to a rich, dark, dense cupcake – this might be my new favorite chocolate cake!

The first bite gives you rich cake, sweet coffee frosting (with a kick!), and that to-die-for whiskey ganache.

Yummmm, right?

Have a happy and safe St. Patty’s Day! Slàinte!

This entry was posted in chocolate, cocktails, holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes

  1. Nicole says:

    I can say with absolutely certainty that these were the BEST cupcakes I have EVER EVER EVER eaten- and I ate 3 that night you brought them over. YUM.

  2. Mary-Grace says:

    I want to try these!!! Even though I don’t like the taste of Guiness, or any beer for that matter:(

    PS I miss you! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

