Double Chocolate Mint Cookies

Remember when I made Monster Cookies and they were incredibly delicious but kind of a failure in terms of their “monster-ness”? Let’s just say that was not a problem this time.

Though I read a lot of different food blogs, there are certain sites that I enjoy reading but rarely copy recipes from. Annie’s Eats is one such blog. Annie is an accomplished baker and a big fan of decorated sugar cookies, amazingly detailed cupcakes, fancy layer cakes. You know, things I admire and love to eat, but am not particularly interested in making. Every once in a while, I bookmark one of her dessert recipes that doesn’t require a pastry bag and royal icing. These double chocolate mint cookies are my own variation on Annie’s “Giant Double Chocolate Cookies“. Even if we don’t have a lot in common, everyone can agree over gigantic chocolate-y cookies, right?

After I read the original recipe, I started thinking about my recent desire for chocolate mint cookies. This recipe lent itself well to my craving, and with a few tweaks, I was well on my way. I picked up a bag of Andes creme de menthe pieces, pulled my peppermint extract out, and went for it. I found these cookies just a little bit crumbly and dry, so next time I would back down the flour a tiny bit. My recipe below reflects my recommended reduction in flour.

Double Chocolate Mint Cookies

1 c. (2 sticks) cold, unsalted butter, cubed
1-1/4 c. sugar
2 large eggs
1 tbsp. peppermint extract
1/2 c. cocoa powder
2 c. all-purpose flour
¼ tsp. coarse salt
1 tsp. baking powder
2½ c. creme de menthe pieces

Preheat the oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.

In a KA mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or using a handheld electric mixer), cream together butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, then peppermint extract and beat until light and fluffy.

Beat in the cocoa powder until completely incorporated. Add flour, salt, and baking powder and mix on low until just combined. Stir in creme de menthe pieces.

Dump mixture out onto a lightly floured board and knead a few times. It’s a lot of dough – the stick of butter is to give you an idea of just how much!

Either weigh into four ounce chunks or simply cut into twelve equal pieces.

Or, you know. Sort of equal.

Roll each piece into a ball and place several inches apart on prepared baking sheet. Press each ball to flatten slightly. Bake 16-20 minutes (I recommend going shy on cooking time.)

Allow to cool several minutes before moving to a wire rack to cool completely.

This entry was posted in baking, chocolate. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Double Chocolate Mint Cookies

  1. Mary-Grace says:

    Hey! I have the same cutting boards as you! You’re using the beef one, I see! Haha;)

    • Don’t draw attention to the fact that I blatantly disregard the whole purpose of the cutting boards! I guess preventing cross-contamination is less vital than doing dishes, because usually I’d rather use the wrong board than wash the right one. 😉

Leave a Reply

