Golden Baked Onions

The recipe for Golden Baked Onions was given to me years ago by my friend Liz. Her Great Aunt Babe makes them for holidays and family get-togethers. Liz told me about them once and they sounded so good that I begged for the recipe, then promptly tucked it away and forgot about it. Silly me.

I finally got around to making this delicious side dish for Christmas dinner, and it was a huge hit. This is a rich one, so it’s not necessarily something I would make for a regular weeknight dinner, but it’s definitely one to keep in rotation for holidays and special meals.

I’m not a fan of “cream of” anything soups and generally try to avoid them. I wanted to make the recipe once, staying completely true to the original ingredients. Next time, I’d probably mix up a simple bechamel instead. Either way you make it, I guarantee it will be absolutely delicious and a huge hit.

 

Aunt Babe’s Golden Baked Onions

1 stick butter
6-8 onions, peeled and sliced into rings
1 can cream of chicken soup
1/3 c. milk
salt & pepper
12 oz. shredded Swiss cheese (about 4 cups)
1 loaf French bread, sliced into 1″ slices

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Butter 13″x9″ baking dish and set aside.

Melt 1/4 stick of butter in a large frying pan. Add onions and cook until tender but not browned. You may need to do this in batches.

Transfer the onions to your prepared baking dish.

Combine the soup & milk in a small bowl and pour over the onions, then top with the cheese.

Melt the remaining butter in the pan you used to cook the onions. Dip one side of each slice of bread in the melted butter and place butter side up on top of the onions and cheese.

Bake 30 minutes or until brown and bubbly.

This entry was posted in cheese, onions, side dish. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Golden Baked Onions

  1. koshercorvid says:

    So.. French onion even-thicker-than-soup? Sign me up! I agree, a bechamel would likely improve this, partly because i like to make things as from-scratch as possible just to have as much control as I can of the flavors of the final product.

    • Yes, this really reminds me of French Onion Soup – rich and creamy and full of cheesy onions and toasty buttery bread. As for your other note, I completely agree – in addition to controlling the flavors, I like to be able to control my ingredients! Thanks for commenting!

  2. Liz says:

    I use the same exact ingredients with some milk and make a hot onion dip. It is so good~

Leave a Reply

