Red Onion-Rosemary Pizza with Chickpeas and Spinach

It’s odd how certain things that sound so bizarre together somehow work in perfect harmony. Like when Glee mashed together “Singin’ In The Rain” and “Umbrella”. Or dipping Wendy’s french fries into a Frosty. Or the toppings on this pizza.

I very loosely adapted this from a recipe in The Essential Eating Well Cookbook, and this has quickly become a favorite of ours. Before you wrinkle your nose, please give it a try. I know, chickpeas on pizza sound weird. But they get this amazing roasty flavor and are a little bit soft and creamy on the inside. Juxtapose those awesome beans with spicy olive oil, sharp red onions, woodsy rosemary, and vibrant baby spinach, and you’ve got a real winner.

Finally, I gave in and added a pizza tag – there are just too many good recipes that I’ve shared (and have planned to share!) that I think they should be easy to search! Check out some of my past pizzas and keep watching for new ones!

 

Red Onion-Rosemary Pizza with Chickpeas and Spinach

1 recipe pizza dough (here’s my recipe)
1 c. shredded mozzerella
1/4 c. shredded pecorino romano
1 c. chickpeas (aka garbanzo beans)
1 tbsp. + 2 tsp. olive oil
1 tbsp. chopped fresh rosemary
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 c. sliced red onion
2 oz. sliced prosciutto (I use at least 4-5 super thin slices)
1 c. packed baby spinach
1/4 c. shredded pecorino romano

 

All right, this is easy enough. If you’re mixing up fresh dough for this, throw a tablespoon of fresh rosemary in when you’re kneading the dough – yum!

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Stretch out your pizza dough to the thickness you like – Andrew and I would rather have thin crust and more pizza, but it’s totally up to you.

Drizzle 2 teaspoons of olive oil over the entire slab of dough. Add the pecorino and then the mozzarella cheese.

In a medium bowl, toss chickpeas, 1 tablespoon olive oil, red onion, rosemary, red pepper, and salt to taste (1/2 teaspoon should do it). Toss all that good stuff onto the dough and spread it out.

Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Pull the pizza out of the oven, sprinkle with the fresh spinach, and return to the oven for 5 minutes or until the crust is golden and the spinach is slightly wilted.

This pizza is colorful, protein-rich, and packed with lots of good-for-you stuff. Not to mention, Andrew doesn’t even seem to notice that it’s meatless!

**What are some of your favorite odd combinations? Feel free to share in the comments!**

This entry was posted in cookbooks, mozzarella, pizza, spinach. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Red Onion-Rosemary Pizza with Chickpeas and Spinach

  1. Jacki @ TRB says:

    I think my Google reader just displayed the entire contents of your pizza tag as “new” items … I was reading one delicious looking pizza post after another and just realized I commented on a VERY old post! But seeing all those pizzas reeeeeally made me miss my Kitchen Aid (the only thing my ex-husband wanted to take in our divorce, oddly enough), because making homemade dough without it doesn’t sound like much fun.

    Anyway, this recipe looks so unusual and tasty! I may cheat and buy some pre-made dough for the time being to try out the recipe 🙂

    • Hi Jacki! Oops, sorry about the Google Reader mishap – bet you’re in the mood for pizza now, huh? 😉 Don’t worry, I love comments, even on the older posts!

      A lot of grocery stores sell raw pizza dough – in mine it’s usually near the deli. Another good alternative is asking your favorite pizza shop if they’ll sell you the dough. If you do attempt homemade dough without a mixer, definitely double the recipe and throw half of it in the freezer for next time. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Mary-Grace says:

    Ooo that looks tasty, and I love that it’s meat-free! Here’s my weird taste-combo thing: when I was a kid, I discovered at birthday parties that it was delicious when the Lays potato chips got birthday cake icing on them. I haven’t tried it since I was 8 or so, but I bet if I did, I’d still think it was delicious. Ha!

  3. Heather says:

    That pizza looks so yum! I might make it over the weekend!

Leave a Reply

