Thanksgiving Thoughts

Hi friends! It’s two days before Thanksgiving, and if you are hosting, I’m sure you’ve already made lists, been to the grocery store, started some dishes, set the table, and cleaned your house, right? Right! (ha!)

If you are a Thanksgiving guest, you probably have a dish or two to make and are more concerned with planning your outfit than planning the menu. That’s me this year (and I still don’t know what I’m going to wear!) and I have to say, it’s nice to not have the stress!

As I’m sure is a tradition for many families, when Andrew and I go to his grandparents’ home for Thanksgiving, we all go around the table and talk about what we’re thankful for. There have been tough years where I was so upset that it was hard to squeak something out without crying. This has been a pretty difficult year for Andrew and I financially, but honestly, I know how lucky we are. Since we won’t be with Grandma & Grandpa this year, I’d like to share with you a list of some of the things I’m thankful for.

The health of the people I care about
A great job that I love
The fact that we are lucky enough to own a home, even if we ARE struggling to sell it
The incredible love and encouragement of my family and friends
My wonderful, supportive, handsome husband

and of course,

YOU! I love writing this blog and it means a lot to know that there are people reading what I have to say!

I’d love to hear what you’re thankful for in the comments!

This year, I am going to be making creamed spinach and creamed onions, plus helping my mom with the two apple pies, two pumpkin pies, two pecan pies, and pumpkin roll. We’ll be at Nonnie’s house all day on Wednesday to prep food, set up the table, and hang out. I’m looking forward to it – half the fun of the holidays (to me) is the preparation and anticipation.

If you need ideas for last minute dishes, here are a few of my tried-and-true comfort food favorites:

Hope this gives you a little direction! Good luck with your holiday dishes and if you’re traveling for the holiday, stay safe!

*What are you thankful for? What are you making for Thanksgiving dinner? Share with me in the comments!*

This entry was posted in family, holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanksgiving Thoughts

  1. Polyvorina says:

    Like you, this has been a tough year for us and it was hard to be thankful without thinking about it all (Canadian Thanksgiving was over a month ago for us). But despite the hardships, I’m thankful for just having a roof over my head and getting to eat (and well) every day. Oh, and for great blogs to read as well – keep up the good work!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Mary-Grace says:

    I’m thankful for my buddy Amy! Haha:) And I’m also thankful for Jemima, my husband, and coffee.

Leave a Reply

