Applesauce Spice Cake

You know, in my last post, I said that I wanted to mix it up, give you something a little different than all the sweet stuff. But then I made this Applesauce Spice Cake and it’s just too good not to share. There was a brief respite from dessert anyway, right? I promise I’ll share some more dinner recipes soon, but all this pumpkin-apple-chocolate weather has me on a roll. What’s that you say? What sort of weather is chocolate weather? Why, all weather is chocolate weather. Duh. Now stop asking silly questions!

Anyway, since it’s apple weather and I recently acquired a bushel of apples (yes, Andrew went back and bought me another half bushel!), I have been making tons of applesauce. I canned some of it, but I thought Rachael’s Applesauce Spice Cake would be a great use for some of the applesauce that’s still in my fridge. You guys remember Rachael, right? She’s always passing along great recipes to me and I’ve been dying to make this cake.

I was so excited that I forgot the camera. This is the best I could manage…I promise next time I make this cake, I will update this post with better photos.

Here’s the thing about this cake. It can do magic. That’s right. You make this cake, and in less than 24 hours, it will disappear. Andrew loved it and so did I. The good thing is, it’s super easy to make. And hey, that stick of butter is spread out over 10-12 slices of cake, right? So what if I end up eating four of them?

Applesauce Spice Cake

½ cup butter (Rachael uses EVOO)                                                                                                1 cup sugar                                                                                                                                          2 eggs, beaten light                                                                                                                           ½ cup chopped nuts (optional)                                                                                                           1 cup chopped raisins  (optional)
2 cups sifted cake flour                                                                                                                       1 tsp baking soda                                                                                                                               ½ tsp nutmeg                                                                                                                                      1 tsp cinnamon                                                                                                                                     1 cup unsweetened applesauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a loaf pan and set aside.

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time until fully incorporated.

If using, stir in the nuts and raisins.

Sift the dry ingredients together three times. I didn’t have cake flour, so I used all-purpose (AP) flour, and it worked just fine.

Add half the flour to the egg mixture, then half the applesauce. Mix well. Add remaining flour, then remaining applesauce, and stir until fully combined.

Bake for 1 hour.

This entry was posted in apples, baking, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

