Pepitapapas

This easy and delicious chocolate treat is sort of like almond bark’s wacky cousin…deep, rich chocolate combined with crunchy, nutty pumpkin seeds and a touch of spicy chili powder for a memorable and unique Halloween candy.

Originally from Sahagun Chocolates in Portland, Oregon, I found an adaptation of this recipe in one of my old Rachael Ray magazines.

I don’t often require special products or expensive items, but I implore you to use good chocolate for this! You don’t have to get snobby, but since this treat is basically pure chocolate, you probably want to go for the good stuff.

Pepitas are the green pumpkin seeds you can find in bulk bins, specialty markets, and stores like Whole Foods. I accidentally bought salted pepitas, so they had to take a quick bath and then I spread them out on a towel to dry overnight.

I didn’t have traditional chili powder on hand, so I used a combination of ancho chile powder and cayenne pepper. If I had this to do again, I would have doubled the amount of chile. The recipe below reflects the original quantity – you may want to try a half batch to start and then adjust the spice for the second batch.

 

Pepitapapas

3/4 lb. good quality bittersweet chocolate, chopped finely                                                          2 c. pepitas                                                                                                                                        1/2 tsp. chili powder

Prepare a baking sheet by lining it with wax paper. Set aside.

Melt chocolate in a microwave safe container at half power, stirring every thirty seconds. This will probably take 2-3 minutes total microwave time.

Stir the chili and 1-3/4 cup of the pepitas into the chocolate. Spread the mixture onto the wax paper. Sprinkle the remaining quarter cup of pepitas on top. You may want to lightly press the pepitas into the chocolate.

Easy, right? Just chill in the fridge for at least ten minutes before you cut it into pieces.

For something a little different this Halloween, consider making pepitapapas for your costume parties, fall open houses, or just for snacking on the couch.

This entry was posted in chocolate, fall, pumpkin. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pepitapapas

  1. Polyvorina says:

    That looks so interesting! I’m going to see if I can find some of these pepitas in stores around me. If not, do you think I could substitute home-roasted pumpkin seeds? Not the same thing, eh? What about regular old Bakers chocolate? Not fancy, I know, but it’s already in my pantry! I want the praise I would get from bringing these to our Halloween party this year, lol. Help me!

    • Hmm, I don’t know about regular roasted pumpkin seeds – you could try it! I mean, what’s the worst that happens? You have to eat chocolate?

      You can probably get pepitas at a Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, etc. Look in the “salad toppings” area of the produce section at your regular grocery store too – mine often has funky nuts/seeds. Try the organic/health food aisle too.

      Let me know how it goes!!

Leave a Reply

