Spiced Pumpkin Madeleines

I’ve been talking about these spiced pumpkin madeleines for the past week and I’m finally getting around to sharing the recipe!

If you don’t have a madeleine pan, you can make the batter into full size or mini cupcakes, following the idea on The LoveBite. I found this great website when I was searching for a pumpkin madeleine recipe, and I’m already a fan! My only issue with this recipe is that the word “Spicy” in the title was a definite misnomer – these are sweetly pumpkin-y and not at all spicy. I added freshly grated nutmeg and white pepper to try to amp up the “spice” factor. They still aren’t especially spicy, which will please my mom and other people who think spicy desserts are weird.

I’ve already shared these delicious cookies, which are really closer to cake in texture, with several people, and I have plenty more where these came from – the recipe made 8 dozen madeleines. Unless you’re willing to leave your oven on for several hours, I’d advise halving the recipe or making some of them into cupcakes.

 

madeleines as far as the eye can see

 

I had issues with the cooking temperature and time recommended in the original recipe. You can see the color change from left to right, as I had a couple batches get too dark, a batch that was light (but not cooked as well as I’d have liked), and then I hit the sweet spot. This photo shows four full batches and a little corner of a fifth – there were eight total!

It took me about four batches to achieve perfection, though I still had a ton of bubbles in my batter. I did everything I could think of – didn’t overmix, tapped the filled pan on the counter before baking, and I still ended up with lots of air holes. After I was done, I did a little research, and I think it has to do with the use of baking powder in this recipe instead of utilizing the more advanced baking technique of making a genoise. It’s definitely something I’ll look into before I make madeleines again.

Spiced Pumpkin Madeleines adapted from The LoveBite

14 oz. pure packed pumpkin                                                                                                      3tsp. pumpkin pie spice                                                                                                                     2 tbsp. molasses                                                                                                                                   zest of an orange                                                                                                                                   1/2 tsp. salt                                                                                                                                     1/4 c. maple syrup                                                                                                                         1/2 tsp. fresh grated nutmeg                                                                                                         1/2 tsp. ground white pepper                                                                                                           1 c. (2 sticks) unsalted butter                                                                                                           3 eggs + one yolk                                                                                                                                2 c. self-rising flour** 1/2 tsp. baking powder

**Note: If you don’t have self-rising flour, you can substitute 1-1/2 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 tsp. salt for each cup of regular AP flour. Based on what I’ve read, this is going to result in those air holes I was talking about before – just be forewarned!**

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium saucepan, combine the pumpkin, molasses, pumpkin spice, zest, salt, syrup, nutmeg, and pepper. Bring the mixture to a bubble over medium heat, remove from the heat and stir.

Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and mix well. Stir in the pumpkin mixture with a wooden spoon until fully combined.

Add the flour and baking soda in parts (I did half at a time) and mix until just combined.

Lightly butter or spray the madeleine pan. I used about a teaspoon per madeleine – your pan may be different from mine, so just plan on your first batch being “testers” while you figure out cooking time, temperature, and fill height. The perfect combination for me was 350 degrees for 16 minutes.

A great garnish for these madeleines is powdered sugar mixed with a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, and pumpkin pie spice.

All in all, this recipe is something I would experiment with again, but I think I’d read a bit more about other methods for making madeleines. I adored the pumpkin, the homey spice flavor, the density, and the smell while they were baking! My major complaint was the holes, and it sounds like I can combat those by switching up my method in the future. As cupcakes, these would be perfect.

I hope you’re enjoying your favorite pumpkin treats and making the most of autumn!

This entry was posted in baking, fall, pumpkin, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spiced Pumpkin Madeleines

  1. Polyvorina says:

    Those look great! A random tip: to spice up any cake, add about a 1/2 tsp. each of nutmeg, cinnamon and ground cloves – those ground cloves are the ticket really. Anyways, I’m a new reader and can’t wait to go through your post history a little more in depth to try out some new recipes!

    • Hi Polyvornia! I debated mixing my own pumpkin pie spice but found some pre-mixed in my cabinet…I wondered about ground cloves, as they’re an ingredient in the “homemade” versions of pumpkin pie spice. I may try the cloves next time in the madeleines, and that’s a great tip for cakes!

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

