Steak with Red Wine Balsamic Reduction

I like a good steak as much as the next person. Heck, I named my blog after my favorite cut! (Granted, it’s also a convenient play on my small stature, but a petite filet mignon really is my fave.) My husband will eat a slab of meat any which way you serve it to him, but when I occasion to eat steak, I like it to be accompanied by delicious side dishes and a fabulous sauce.

Since I’m all about whipping random ingredients together and then hoping for a great outcome and am not particularly experienced in sauce making, sometimes I come up with something fab, but I’ve also created some doozies. This time, I found a recipe online and (mostly) followed the directions.

Red Wine Balsamic Reduction

adapted from Fete & Feast

2 tbsp. olive oil

1/4 c. chopped onion

1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper

1/4 tsp. salt

1 c. red wine (I used Cabernet)

1/4 c. balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp. honey

1/2 tsp. dried thyme

2 tbsp. butter

Heat olive oil over medium high heat. Add onion, salt, and pepper; saute until softened but not brown.

Add the wine, vinegar, thyme, and honey. Use a wooden spoon to stir up all the browned bits from the pan.

Increase the heat to high and bring to a boil. Drop the heat to a simmer and cook until mixture is reduced by half, about 15 minutes.

Strain the sauce through a fine mesh strainer into a bowl or pitcher, then return to the pan over low heat.

Heat through, then add butter and whisk until melted. Season with salt and pepper as necessary.

Serve poured over steak or pass at the table.

*This steak is pictured with Caramelized Onion & Gorgonzola Risotto. Try it sometime, it’s pretty fabulous.*

This entry was posted in beef. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

