Happy Easter!

The weather has been absolutely beautiful for the past week, so I put off making my Easter dessert until the last minute.  I’m glad I did, because I ended up also making a birthday cake for Andrew’s Aunt Sammy. 

When I saw the recipe for Nigella’s Fairy Cakes on “Once Upon a Plate”, I knew I had to try them.  My one issue with the recipe was that Mari didn’t explain how to get the cupcakes flat and iced as perfectly as hers were.  I winged it and they came out okay.  Mari’s icing must have been much thicker than mine, because my cupcakes soaked up a lot of the liquid and were not as perfectly smooth as hers were.  The blue ones came out best, and they were all delicious, so no one really minded.

I added 3/4 cup cocoa powder to one batch of the Fairy Cake recipe and baked it in an 8″ cake pan.  Then, using an idea I saw on the back of the Easter M&M’s bag, I cut the cake in half and turned it into a butterfly.  I used Mari’s easy buttercream recipe, tinted it pink, and decorated with sprinkles and M&M’s.  I used candied citrus peel as antennae.  Sammy was really happy with her cake, and it tasted fantastic!

This entry was posted in baking, chocolate, family, holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Easter!

  1. Alee says:

    Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

