Roasted Vegetable Sandwiches

There’s this movie that I had on VHS when I was a kid called The Teddy Bears’ Picnic – an animated story about what happens when teddy bears come to life and all meet up in the woods for a big party.

There’s even a song and everything.

If you go out in the woods today
You’re sure of a big surprise.
If you go out in the woods today
You’d better go in disguise.
For every bear that ever there was
Will gather there for certain, because
Today’s the day the teddy bears have their picnic.

 

Of course, this song has been stuck in my head for days now.

I’m not sure what the Teddy Bears’ Picnic has to do with these Roasted Vegetable Sandwiches. But I was thinking about it and I wanted you guys to know. So you’re welcome for the tangential teddy bear talk.

Anyone who knows me can tell you I’m not a big sandwich person. I typically avoid meat/bread combinations (though of course there are exceptions to this rule) so when I eat at a cute little sandwich shop, I tend to go for the vegetarian option. My favorite version has been cropping up everywhere lately – marinated vegetables that are roasted, melty cheese, crusty bread…it’s a winning combination, and one that I was quick to duplicate at home.

Oh, here’s where I can tie this sandwich and the Teddy Bears’ Picnic together. Sort of. This would be a great choice for a picnic offering. You could pack the bread, pesto-goat cheese, and veggies separately and assemble at the picnic site for a filling vegetarian option. See, I knew I could bring it full circle.

Roasted Vegetable Sandwiches

1 loaf ciabatta bread
1/2 c. pesto
4-6 oz. goat cheese
1 small zucchini
1 small yellow squash
1 small eggplant
1 large red onion
2 bell peppers (colors of your choice)
2/3 c. Italian dressing

Slice the zucchini, squash, and eggplant into planks and cut the onion and peppers into slices. Toss together with Italian dressing – season with salt and pepper if necessary. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes but not much more than an hour.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Spread the vegetables out on a cookie sheet and roast for 20 minutes or until slightly charred and heated through.

In the meantime, mix the pesto and the goat cheese together in a small bowl. You may want to thin the mixture out with a little olive oil – it needs to be spreadable.

Slice the ciabatta in half lengthwise. Liberally spread the pesto-goat cheese mixture over both halves. At this point, you can put the bread under the broiler for a moment to get it a little toasty – the cheese will get melty and it will be delish, but this isn’t a required step.

Assemble by heaping the vegetables onto the bottom half of the bread, then adding the top half. Slice the loaf of bread into individual sandwiches and serve.

This entry was posted in onions, panini, peppers, vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roasted Vegetable Sandwiches

  1. Cindy says:

    I was thrilled to see this post. I clicked for the sandwich recipe, but then I saw the teddy bear song. It brought back such memories! My dad used to sing this song to me when I was little and I haven’t thought about that for years. Thanks for the recipe and the trip down memory lane.

Leave a Reply

